Peace Corps application timeline

When I started to consider applying to the Peace Corps, this was the first thing I looked for when searching other people’s blogs. For background, (a) I am an RPCV (Micronesia 19080-1982), which may have helped speed things up a little, and (b) I am older (nearly 60, gasp!), which definitely helped slow things down a little, mainly on the medical stuff. Having said that, I’ve moved remarkably quickly through the process I think, even skipping a few steps, so take this for what it’s worth – each application and timeline is very different.

  • Submitted application:                               May 20, 2013
  • First contact from recruiter:                      May 21, 2013 (email which said references were being contacted, & interview would be scheduled as soon as all 3 were received)
  • Interview with recruiter:                             June 4, 2013
  • Nominated:                                                June 5, 2013 (for community economic development, location tba)
  • MAP documentation requests:                 June 5, 2013 (asked for 3 medical conditions to be assessed and form filled out by doctor)
  • Received legal kit:                                       June 20, 2013
  • Sent legal kit to D.C:                                   June 25, 2013
  • Notified legal kit received:                           June 27, 2013
  • Medically pre-cleared:                                 August 12, 2013
  • Placement questionnaire                            August 28, 2013
  • Uploaded questionnaire to website:           September 3, 2013 (note – many people have a phone interview scheduled after this step, but for whatever reason, this did not happen in my case.)
  • INVITATION RECEIVED!                            September 23, 2013 (Individual and Organizational Development, Georgia, April 2014)
  • Begin medical process:                             October 1, 2013
  • Finish medical/dental process:                  November 29, 2013 (uploaded all forms to MAP site)
  • Notified that all documents received:         December 4, 2013
  • Received medical/dental clearance:          December 23, 2013

Now I will begin taking the irrevocable steps necessary to move forward – giving notice at my job of 13 years, selling my house and car, and all that goes along with that. Other than major milestones, I have no intention of boring anyone with the details!

One thought on “Peace Corps application timeline

  1. Dale

    I’m in the boat with you. I’m 61 and recently retired from 31 years with the federal government. I was invited to Peru in the WASH group. That’s Water Sanitation and Hygiene. Poop-Processing for short. Researching that field, I find that there is a lot of solar panel wind-power involved, and I love that kind of stuff. I’ll not be selling my house. My wife will stay in it when she is here. She will be mostly traveling the world with freguent visits to my place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

